Caymanian students honoured at Canadian school

| 15/06/2016
CNS Local Life

(L-R) Jazz Pitcairn, Ryan Kirkaldy and Drew Lerikos with TCS Headmaster Stuart Grainger

(CNS): Trinity College School (TCS) of Ontario has appointed several Caymanian students to leadership roles, which are distributed amongst six boarding houses and four day houses. Each year, students are nominated to be head of house, and for the 2016-2017 academic year, Jazz Pitcairn and Ryan Kirkaldy of Cayman have been named for their respective boarding houses.

In addition, Drew Lerikos, also from Cayman, has been appointed peer counsellor, which is a key student support role in boarding houses. TCS headmaster Stuart Grainger said, “Jazz, Ryan and Drew are all outstanding students and members of the TCS community. Having Caymanians leading two out of our six boarding houses is a testimony to the strong links between TCS and Cayman.”

Since 1992, TCS has offered a full-tuition, merit-based scholarship to Cayman students called the Donald F. Hunter Scholarship. There have been 11 recipients over the last 23 years: Samantha Widmer, Jacqueline Eberts, Carol Phelps, Praveen Alla, Krishan Welcome, Krista McCoy, Abali Hoilett, Chelsea Smith, Tracey Forbes, Joe Roberts and Cameron McWatt.

With the Hunter Scholarship concluding last year, TCS extended its commitment with a new full-tuition scholarship opportunity for future promising Cayman Islands students, with the first one awarded to Zororo Mutomba.

The growing TCS community in the Cayman Islands includes more than 100 alumni, students, and past and current parents. The first students from Cayman came to the school in the early 1980s, and 18 local students currently attend TCS.

Tags: ,

Category: Education

Comments are closed.