UK boys to join regional tournament in Cayman

| 26/03/2015
Cayman News Service

Cayman’s U-15 team in action in 2013

(CNS): England’s National Under-15 Boys football team will be one of 35 teams visiting Cayman and Jamaica this summer to take part in this summer’s regional football contest, officials have revealed. The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) said the August teen tournament will be the biggest the region has ever hosted.

“Our focus has always been on development and increasing the international exposure for our young players,” said CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb. “Competition this year will be fierce, and there will certainly be stellar performances to watch as England participates with the best of CONCACAF’s talents.”

Between 11 and 23 August 11-23 teams from the Caribbean, Central and North America will compete in Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac and Jamaica during the group stage. The semi-finals and finals will be hosted in Grand Cayman.

“On behalf of the FA, we are delighted to accept the invitation to take part in the CONCACAF youth tournament in the Cayman Islands this August,” said Greg Dyke, Chairman of The Football Association. “An essential part of development football is broadening players’ experience – both on and off the pitch – and giving them the chance to regularly test themselves against different styles and systems. I am sure it will be a great competition and wish all taking part the very best of luck,” he said.

Cayman Islands Sports Minister Osbourne Bodden said the competition was already making history.

“To have the English national U-15 team compete, adds to its growing status and prestige and is a welcomed addition to the tournament. It is a credit to CONCACAF and to the Cayman Islands to have developed the capacity to host a tournament of such caliber, to attract so many quality teams from across the region and beyond,” he said.

CONCACAF teams scheduled to participate included 24 Caribbean nations: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Bonaire, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Saint-Martin, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad & Tobago and U.S. Virgin Islands. Seven countries from Central America, Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama while Canada Mexico and the United States will also compete.

Tags: ,

Category: Football, Sports

Comments are closed.