Customs officers acclaimed for zero sick days

| 28/04/2015
Cayman News Service

Derek McLaughlin has not taken a sick day for 27 years

(CNS): Five customs officers and 16 staff members from the department who never missed a day of work in 2014 have been lauded for their dedication and what was described by officials as exemplary performance. But while that may have been considered impressive by their bosses and peers, Derek McLaughlin, a porter with the department stationed at Owen Roberts International Airport, has had perfect attendance for the past 27 years.

During the session to pat the staff on the back, Newton Powery was awarded Junior Customs Officer of the Year; Mia Welds the Senior Customs Officer of the Year; Philip West was acclaimed as the Customs Officer of the Year; Randy Whittaker the Assistant Collector of Customs of the Year; and Nicole Lawrence Support Staff of the Year. All of the award winners were chosen by their peers.

Financial Secretary and Chief Officer of the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development, Kenneth Jefferson, said the performance of all the awardees was “very impressive”. He also commended the camaraderie in the customs department. “The public is constantly scrutinizing us and our performance,” he said, so staff needed to keep their guard up and remain motivated.

Staff with perfect attendance in calendar year 2014 spanned all hierarchies and age groups of the Customs department. In addition to the top five staff and McLaughlin, Michael Bartlett, Marlon Bodden, Mark Connolly, Thorna Douglas, Gidget Powell, Collie Powery, Juan Alberto Powery, Langlie Powery, Gina Rankin-Bustillo, George Solomon, Maureen Thompson, Philip West, Desmond Whittaker, Randy Whittaker and Trevor Williams were all acknowledged.

Cayman News Service

Customs officers who took no sick days in 2014 and their bosses


Category: Community

Comments are closed.