Cayman Prep wins third straight Opening Rally

| 29/09/2015
Cayman News Service

Action between Cayman Prep and Truth For Youth (light blue) during the Opening Rally final

(PFL): Cayman Prep set a new school and CUC Primary Football League (PFL) record by winning their third consecutive Opening Rally title with a tough 2-1 extra time victory over Truth For Youth in the final of the 2015/2016 CUC PFL Opening Rally this past Saturday at the Annex Field.

Substitute Malcolm Hill was the hero on the day for the three-time champions as he netted the winner in the final minute of extra time. His crucial goal earned him the Ronnie Roach Most Valuable Player Award.

Truth For Youth’s Tevin Ebanks surprised the defending champions after he opened the scoring in only the second minute of the final. Cayman Prep had to wait until the second half to equalise thanks to Jahmer Campbell’s 12th minute strike.

With both teams unable to find the back of the net, the game went into two five-minute extra time periods. There was no shortage of action as Cayman Prep piled on the pressure. Keon Jennings was a rock in Truth For Youth’s defence. With time running out, Malcolm Hill pounced on a loose ball near the goal line and slotted home the game winner.

Cayman International School (CIS) claimed third place after defeating St. Ignatius Prep 2-0 thanks to goals from Toby Johns and Adam Purvis. This was the third year in a row that St. Ignatius Prep finished fourth.

Cayman Prep’s road to the final got off to a rough start in Zone C after losing 1-2 to George Town Primary in penalties (0-0 fulltime) in their opening game but they turned it around, winning the zone on goal difference after defeating Prospect Primary 3-0. Prospect Primary defeated George Town Primary 3-0 to finish second in Zone C and advance to the quarterfinals with Cayman Prep.

Truth For Youth’s journey to the final started with consecutive 1-0 victories over Cayman Brac and Red Bay Primary in Zone B. A 0-2 loss to Sir John A. Cumber Primary on penalties (0-0 fulltime) meant that Truth For Youth advanced to the quarterfinals as winners of Zone B on goal difference.

A fortunate 5-4 sudden death penalty shootout win over George Town Primary (0-0 fulltime; 3-3 penalties and 2-1 sudden death penalties) and the 2-0 penalty shootout victory over Truth For Youth clinched a quarterfinal berth for Sir John A. Cumber Primary as runners-up in Zone B. In the other Zone B game, Sir John A. Cumber Primary lost to Cayman Brac 0-2.

In Zone A, CIS advanced to the quarterfinals with consecutive 1-0 victories over St. Ignatius Prep and NorthEast Schools. St. Ignatius Prep claimed second in the zone and a spot in the quarterfinals after a 2-1 penalty shootout win (0-0 fulltime) over NorthEast Schools.

In Zone D, Savannah Primary defeated South Sound Schools 1-0 and Triple C 2-0 to secure their spot in the quarterfinals. South Sound Schools defeated Triple C 3-2 on penalties (0-0 fulltime) to claim second place in the zone and a spot in the quarterfinals.

In the quarterfinals, Cayman Prep defeated Sir John A. Cumber Primary 2-0 with goals from Tom Byrne and Dante Dell’Oglio; Truth For Youth beat Prospect Primary 3-0 thanks to goals from Jayden Wright, Joseph Swaby and Marc Balbontin; CIS cruised past South Sound Schools 4-0 with Jackson MacKay scoring three and Toby Johns grabbing the fourth; and St. Ignatius Prep outlasted Savannah Primary 1-0 with Liam Chisholm claiming the winning goal.

In the semifinals, Cayman Prep secured their place in the final after defeating CIS 2-1 in penalties (0-0 fulltime) and Truth For Youth overcame St. Ignatius Prep 3-2 in penalties (0-0 fulltime).

Special thanks to the youth officials who did an excellent job throughout the day controlling the games and to Dwayne Ebanks and Chastine Rankine for monitoring the young referees’ activities.

Thanks also to contributing sponsors Progressive Distributors, suppliers of Gatorade to all participating PFL schools.

The Opening Rally marks the beginning of the 2015/2016 CUC PFL regular season, which commences on Saturday, 3 October at venues across the Island.


Category: Football, Sports, Youth

Comments are closed.