Nominations open for governor’s design award

| 07/10/2015
Cayman News Service

Governor Helen Kilpatrick presents plaque for 2013 Governor’s Award to Neville Scott (left) and Wil Steward (right)

(CNS): Governor Helen Kilpatrick, together with the Cayman Society of Architects, Surveyors & Engineers and the Cayman Contractors Association, recently launched the fourth national Governor’s Award for Design and Construction Excellence in the Cayman Islands. The focus for this year’s award is residential design.

The aim of the Governor’s Award is to encourage, foster and maintain innovation, sustainability and excellence in the Cayman Islands construction industry. The last winning design was the George Town Barcadere.

Garth Arch, a member of the Governor’s Awards Committee, said he is looking forward to seeing the 2015 applications. “We have been consistently impressed over the years by the high standards of the awards shortlist and the committee felt that this year we should focus purely on residential design and construction,” he said.

“We are seeing recently some exceptionally beautiful and innovative residential builds and wanted the award to reflect Cayman’s progress in this area, which we believe is nothing short of world class.”

At the 1 October launch of this year’s awards, Kilpatrick presented a plaque to 2013 winners Neville Scott, from Scotts Marine, and Wil Stewart, from CGMJ Architects, for the design and development of the Barcadere.

Any member of a project team (including the developer) may nominate the project. This year’s submission deadline is 6pm, Friday, 13 November, after which entries will be shortlisted by a panel of judges. The governor will then select the winning entry.

The judging will be based on the criteria of design excellence; creativity and innovation; sustainability and the environment; value; buildability; and cultural response. The winner will be announced at a ceremony at the governor’s residence on 3 December 2015.


Category: Uncategorised

Comments are closed.