Governor hosts tea party for YCLA finalists

| 24/10/2016
CNS Local Life

Mascots posing at the tea party

(CNS Local Life): The five finalists of the 2016 Young Caymanian Leadership Awards (YCLA) joined Governor Helen Kilpatrick for a family-oriented tea party on the Government House lawn Tuesday, 18 October. Joining the governor and the finalists were YCLA organisers, sponsors, past recipients and family members. Despite slightly inclement weather, Kilpatrick said it was a joy to see a festive family atmosphere on the grounds and welcomed everyone into the shelter of the house when the rains came.

The event’s entertainment included a face painter, balloon artist, snow cones by Kiwanis and local corporate and government mascots.

The organisers formally introduced the five finalists: Dr Kristina Maxwell, Shena Ebanks, Tedrick Green, Brianna Wilkerson and Dr Alexandra Bodden. The 2016 YCLA recipient will be announced Saturday, 5 November at an award ceremony.

Young Caymanian Leadership Foundation director and honorary board member Heather Bodden acknowledged that selecting the five finalists was a difficult task as this year had a strong group of nominations to consider.

“Every year the magnitude and quality of finalists get better and better; it is incredible to know we have such a strong group of active young leaders and role models in our community,” she said.

“I am so proud of these young people and that the YCLA continues to grow from strength to strength every year and all year long.”

Last year’s YCLA recipient Kellie Sandy spoke at the event about the importance of mentorship and building the youth of Cayman. She has addressed more than 15,000 people in the past year spreading the message of leadership in the community.

Tags: ,

Category: Youth

Comments are closed.