Fire Service officers honoured

| 22/05/2017
CNS Local Life

(L-R) David Hails, Employee of the Year Ian McLaughlin and Kathryn Dinspel-Powell

(CNS Local Life): The Cayman Islands Fire Service (CIFS) recently celebrated several officers for their performance on the job. At the Tuesday, 16 May staff-appreciation function, the major achievements of the CIFS team were highlighted, with 15 people recognised for their accomplishments and Sub Officer Ian McLaughlin selected as the CIFS Employee of the Year for 2016.

In his opening remarks, Deputy Governor Franz Manderson, applauded the dedication and commitment of the firefighters.

“Today we show our appreciation for your service, risks and sacrifice,” Manderson said, in a government press release. “Every day you wake up, not knowing what obligations your job may bring, but still you strap on that uniform and go to work ready to face the unknown. I strongly believe in all of you and the services you provide on a daily basis for this country.”

He encouraged the officers to continue working with the fire chief and the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) to create a “world class” fire and rescue service.

Chief Fire Officer David Hails also saluted his team of 130 fire personnel for their efforts and accomplishments.

“As a department comprised of career members, the Cayman Islands Fire Service prides itself on being part of the community and we strive to provide the highest quality emergency services to our residents and visitors,” Hails said. “These responders stand ready to assist in time of need, day or night, with compassion, professionalism, respect and dignity.”

Hails, along with MHA Deputy Chief Officer Kathryn Dinspel-Powell, presented accolades to 15 fire officers.

In addition to McLaughlin’s honour, Fire Officer Henry Ebanks accepted the Bravery in Service Award, Sub Officer Ricardo Charlton received the Community Spirit Award and Senior Divisional Officer Kennedy Douglas and Station Officer Peter Dixon were awarded the Longest Serving Officer Award for their 35 years in the CIFS.

The Excellence in Academic Achievement Award was given to Fire Officer Morris Martin, for completing his associates in public administration, Sub Officer Whitman Tatum for his certificate in public administration and Human Resource Officer Kandie Hurlston for her graduate certificate in human resource management.

Fire Officers Elbert McField, Marlon Goddard and Bradley Welds, together with Sub Officers Norman Josephs and Marcus Scott, received the Excellence in Fitness and Wellness Award. The Effort in Fitness and Wellness Award was given to Sub Officer Larue Nixon and Fire Officer John Ebanks.

Acting MHA Chief Officer Michael Nixon also acknowledged the fire officers during the ceremony. “We value your skills, heart and determination to keep this country safe,” he said. “Your hard work doesn’t go unnoticed, and your bravery and tenacity is truly impeccable and inspiring. I am proud to honour all of you today and celebrate the commitment you deliver to the people of this community.”

Tags: , , ,

Category: Fire Service

Comments are closed.