Triple C celebrates class of 2017

| 16/06/2017
CNS Local Life

Valedictorian Jacie Mascarenhas and salutatorian Frank Noguera Villarroel

(CNS Local Life): Triple C School held its high school graduation Monday, 5 June, with 34 students receiving their diplomas. The celebration for the seniors and their families actually began the previous evening, however, with a baccalaureate service where the students were inducted in the school’s alumni association. Several graduates had parents who also attended Triple C and they were invited to pin their own child during the ceremony.

At the next day’s graduation, alumna Suahil Housholder (class of 1993) presented the diplomas and certificates to the students, and also gave the commencement address. She spoke about the challenges that she too faced when in high school but said she was able to succeed through strong guidance and wisdom from teachers and family.

Edlyn Ruiz (class of 2007), who was the keynote speaker at the baccalaureate service, shared four lessons that she has learned since her own high school graduation. First, she encouraged the seniors to ask questions to seek understanding; second, never stop learning; third, speak the truth; and fourth, make the journey their own.

Jacie Mascarenhas, who graduated with a 4.24 average, was valedictorian at commencement and Frank Noguera Villarroel delivered the salutatorian address. Mascarenhas won subject awards for English, mathematics, social studies and Christian education, and also received the Chamber of Commerce Outstanding Leader Award, the Kiwanis grant and the Ernst & Young Award for outstanding academic achievement. Villarroel received the subject award for science and Lilav Lee the award for business. Subject awards are given in six disciplines to those students who have the highest average over a four-year period. Lee also received the CICSA Credit Union Scholarship for business.

Keilah Quincoces was the recipient of the Outstanding Senior Award, presented by Lyneth Monteith, the Director of the Department of Education Services, which recognises scholarship, leadership, citizenship, loyalty, and peer and teacher rapport.

Five students were presented Save Our Youth Foundation awards. Receiving the SOY Community Service Awards were Jonathan Key and Grace Ruby, with Isaiah Ebanks, Nike Rivers, Zion Coe and Patrisia Thompson earning SOY Achievement Medallion Awards. Ruby also took home the High School Visual Arts Achievement Award, sponsored by the National Gallery of the Cayman Islands. The Triple C School PTA Scholarship Award for extracurricular excellence went to Alyssa Gilbert and Alaye McLaughlin.

Other awards presented throughout the evening were the Creative Christian Character Award to David Brown, Jada Connor, Mascarenhas and Thompson; the Myles Music Achievement Award to Brown; the STEM Award to Thompson; and the Triple C Alumni Scholarship for Excellence in Sports to Key.

Tags: , ,

Category: High School

Comments are closed.