CIAA celebrates long-term employees

| 06/02/2018
CNS Local Life

CIAA CEO Albert Anderson with long-serving employees at ORIA (L-R) Chief Commercial Officer Bianca Moore Downey, Chief Security Officer Shane Bothwell and Chief Airport Operations Officer Dale Davis

(CNS Local Life): The Cayman Islands Airports Authority (CIAA) honoured its long-serving staff at Owen Roberts International Airport and Charles Kirkconnell International Airport in awards ceremonies held during Christmas parties in Grand Cayman and Cayman Brac. All together 28 employees were celebrated — 15 for five years, five for 10 years, four for 15 years and four with 35 or more years of service. Each honouree was awarded with a commemorative gift and a cash prize.

The CIAA employs 200 people and in a press release said it seeks to achieve excellence through encouraging effective communication, enhancing employment relations, fostering a culture of learning, ensuring compliance with best practices of people management and implementing staff incentives and productivity schemes.

CNS Local Life

(L-R) CKIA Airport Manager Miguel Martin, CIAA Board Member Nathanial Tibbetts, long-serving staff Heikie Conolly, Lex Scott and Jeff Watson, with CEO Albert Anderson (far right)

To acknowledge the efforts of long-serving staff and to attract and retain local talent, the authority implemented an employee-recognition programme several years ago. This initiative was revitalised last year with the appointment of a rewards and recognition committee empowered to coordinate supporting events and programmes.

Chief human resources officer Mario Ebanks said of the ceremonies, “We believe that our people are our greatest assets, an extension of the authority’s core values and purpose, and we are honoured to celebrate those who have continuously brought commitment and dedication to their important work at the airports every single day.”

The five-year long-service recipients were Nicholas Johnson, Tashaena Young, Tashiana Ffrench-Gonzalez, Santa Ritch, Carlos Rizo, Lex Scott, Stephen Harris, Melantha Wright, John Barron, Tammy Bush, Andrene Myles, Melissa King, Howard Tomlinson, Mark Danziger and Heber Ebanks. The 10-year long-service recipients were Jason Giddings, Robert Smith, Barbara Wilson, Ivis Matute and Wayne DaCosta. Employees with 15 years of long service were Donna Conolly, Jeffery Watson, Heikie Conolly and Joshua Burke, and those celebrating 35 or more years were Ollen McLaughlin, Neville Lynch, Kenneth Lewis and Laurie Farrington.

Tags: ,

Category: Airport

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Stop lowering the bar says:

    Operations at ORIA are very poor. No leadership and foresight with managing resources. It is easy to be profitable when you have NO competition. Want to see an effecient and smooth operating airport look at Tampa international. Night and day experience with ORIA.