Crisis Centre elects new executive

| 25/06/2015
Cayman News Service

Denise Gower, new chair of the Crisis Centre

(CNS): The Cayman Islands Crisis Centre, Cayman’s only women’s shelter, elected a new executive committee at its recent annual general meeting. Denise Gower will take the helm as chair of the organisation, with Melisa Johnson the vice chair. Zena Merren-Chin was re-elected secretary and William Fleury was re-elected treasurer. The other board members are Richard Simms, Dawn McLean-Sawney, Charmaine McGowan and Janette Goodman.

Outgoing chair Len Layman had previously expressed his desire to step down and hand over the reins. “I am proud to have been one of the founding members of the Cayman Islands Crisis Centre and honoured to have been chosen to lead the organisation since it opened its doors in 2003,” he said.

“Since that time, the staff have helped over 900 women and their children as they worked to transition to lives free of violence. I am grateful for all who have helped make the centre what it is today, and confident the new board will continue to provide these much needed services to our community.”

Gower thanked Layman for his contribution to the women of Cayman. “Len has left behind big shoes to fill. He has a vision for the CICC that we will continue to strive towards, that being to eventually close the doors of the centre because its services are no longer required,” she said.

The Cayman Islands Crisis Centre provides temporary housing and services for victims of domestic violence and their children, helping them find lives free from violence.


Category: Community

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. amit says:

    Please ignore this comments. Testing it.