Annual awards name top equestrians

| 06/07/2017
CNS Local Life

Jumping champion Kayla Godwin riding Harry

(CNS Local Life): The Cayman Islands Equestrian Federation (CIEF) held its fourth annual awards banquet on Saturday, 24 June, at which champions and reserve champions for the year were named. During the horse show season, which runs from September to June, the CIEF holds four National Dressage Shows and four legs of its National Jumping Series that lead up to the annual awards dinner.

Using the top three results that riders achieve in these shows in their respective categories, a champion and reserve champion are chosen. This year’s dressage winners were returning champions Jessica McTaggart-Giuzio and Tracey Surrey, and newcomers to the podium, Jardae Barnes, Amber McMillan, Lara Humphries, Stephanie Lloyd, Abbey Swartz and Jodie McTaggart.

In the jumping series, Kayla Godwin returned to the champion’s ring, with Leah Alberga, Olivia Kluyver and Abbey Swartz also collecting championship rosettes.

Eve van den Bol, CIEF president, said at the dinner: “Congratulations to all of our riders and a very big thank you to the families, friends and membership who donate their time and assistance to the CIEF, none of this would be possible without you.”

CIEF is a volunteer organisation that hosts competitions throughout the year, arranges for an equine veterinary doctor to visit the island regularly, organises visiting clinicians and show judges, supports riders who are representing the Cayman Islands overseas, and works to improve the welfare of horses on the island.

In addition to celebrating the achievements of CIEF riders during the 2016/17 show season, there was a raffle and tombola to raise funds for the upcoming year.

The current CIEF board of directors comprises van den Bol, Tanya Neville-Dickson (vice president), Sharon Hinds (secretary general) Wendy Mannisto (treasurer) and Caroline Key (director). Hinds stepped down from the role of president earlier this year, after holding that position for the maximum three years allowed under the by-laws, and has been an active board member since 2002.

“Under Sharon’s leadership, the CIEF has had many accomplishments, including working with the Veterinary Board to secure quality equine vet care on island, and solidifying both our National Jumping and Dressage Series. Her service to equestrian sport on the island has been both commendable and invaluable,” said van den Bol.

The upcoming show season will run from September 2017 to June 2018.

Tags: ,

Category: Equestrian, Sports

Comments are closed.