Rosa Harris to receive tourism award

| 06/05/2019
CNS Local Life
Cayman Islands Director of Tourism Rosa Harris

(CNS Local Life): Cayman Islands Director of Tourism Rosa Harris has been named one of the six recipients of the Caribbean Tourism Organisation (CTO) allied member awards. She will join other honourees at the Travel Industry Awards dinner set for Thursday, 6 June, in New York.

Harris, along with Chicago-based Laura Davidson, who runs an eponymous public relations firm, has been tapped for the Jerry Award for the “passion with which they serve the region”, said a press release announcing the awards, which are being presented during Caribbean Week.

Established in 1997 in memory of the late Jerry Magit who represented the allied members on the CTO’s board of directors, the Jerry Award recognises people who, in addition to demonstrating passion, have “dedicated time, energy, financial, and other personal and professional resources” to the development of the Caribbean.

The other awardees include former Grenada tourism minister Brenda Hood, who chairs the Grenada Tourism Authority, and has previously served on the CTO’s human resources technical committee, and the boards of the then Caribbean Disaster Emergency Response Agency (now the Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency) and the Inter-Parliamentary Forum of the Americas.

Hood, along with Colin James, CEO of the Antigua & Barbuda Tourism Authority, will receive the Allied Award “for outstanding contributions to the region’s development”. That award was established in 2005 to recognise individuals within the CTO family – government, airline, cruise line, allied and affiliate members and staff – who have done an “extraordinary job of contributing, in a tangible way, to the sustainable development of the region”, stated the press release.

Noel Mignott, president and CEO of The PM Group, and Annette Stowe, internet and conference administrator at CTO-USA, Inc., will receive the Special Recognition Award for high performance. The award honours individuals whose contributions, particularly in the last year, “have truly made a difference among the region or Caribbean community and/or industry”. The award is not limited to service directly in the travel sector, but is also for service in any ancillary industry that supports tourism and brings continuous positive recognition to the region, the release said.

In addition to the allied membership honours, CTO will announce the winners of the travel media awards and present its Lifetime Achievement Award, Distinguished Caribbean Citizen Award and Award of Excellence, among others, while Jamaica will present the Marcella Martinez and the Marcia Vickery-Wallace awards.

Tags: , ,

Category: Local News, Tourism

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations Rosa! Caymanian leadership representing our beautiful islands.