Deadline nears to nominate tourism heroes

| 23/09/2016
CNS Local Life

(L-R) Culture Councillor Roy McTaggart, Tourism Minister Moses Kirkconnell and Culture Chief Officer Jennifer Ahearn announcing the opening of nominations for National Heroes Day

(CNS Local Life): The nomination period for National Heroes Day 2017 is drawing to a close, with the public asked to submit names of tourism pioneers by 30 September. Leaders from the Ministries of Culture and Tourism are encouraging all community members to put forward names for consideration before the deadline. This year’s tourism theme will encompass the development and/or delivery of tourism pioneers throughout the history of the Cayman Islands, up to present time.

“There are many people who are extremely accomplished in the field of tourism, and who have dedicated their time and lives to this important industry,” said Premier and Minister for Culture Alden McLaughlin. “Those are people who deserve to be recognised, so I strongly encourage everyone to continue to submit nomination forms to ensure our tourism pioneers get the recognition they deserve.”

Jennifer Ahearn, chief officer for the Ministry of Culture and chairperson for the National Heroes Day committee, said they have received many nominations for outstanding nominees.

“We greatly appreciate the community’s help and would like to thank everyone who has gotten involved with the process,” she said. “We look forward to receiving even more nominations before the end of this month.”

There are five nomination categories for outstanding contributions to the tourism industry in the Cayman Islands: Early Pioneer, Pioneer, Emerging Pioneer, Memorial Scroll and Long Service Award.

The annual National Heroes Day celebration is set to take place at Heroes Square, on Monday, 23 January 2017.

Nomination forms are available at the reception desk of the Government Administration Building and online at the Ministry of Culture website


Category: Tourism

Comments are closed.