Prospect Primary win first girls’ opening rally title

| 27/09/2016
CNS Local Life

Cayman Prep (blue) bested Sir John A. Cumber ‘B’ to take third place

(CNS Local Life): The young ladies from the Prospect Primary ‘A’ team created their own piece of history this past Saturday, 24 September, at the Annex Field as they secured the inaugural 2016/2017 CUC Girls’ Primary Football League (GPFL) opening rally title with a hard-fought 1-0 penalty shootout victory over St Ignatius Prep.

Prospect’s goalkeeper, Nalani Swann, was the heroine in the final and on the day as she kept the speedy and talented St Ignatius forwards at bay pulling off a number of key saves during regulation time, in extra time and the penalty shootout. Her efforts earned her the Marie Martin Most Valuable Player award in the final.

With the score all even at 0-0 after regulation, the final went into extra time where neither team could find the back of the net to break the deadlock. With both goalkeepers at their very best, the regular penalty shootout ended 0-0 after three penalties. Finally, Prospect Primary secured the victory and the cup by blasting in their second sudden death penalty after St Ignatius had missed their shot.

Cayman Prep claimed third place after defeating Sir John A. Cumber Primary ‘B’ 1-0 thanks to a solitary strike from Nayeli Dacres.

During first round play in Zone A, in what was to be a prelude to the final, St Ignatius Prep defeated Prospect Primary ‘A’ 3-0.

In Zone B, Sir John A. Cumber Primary ‘A’ topped the group with a penalty shootout win over Prospect Primary ‘B’ and a 1-0 victory over George Town Primary, which secured second place in Zone B after defeating Prospect Primary ‘B’ 1-0. The three schools all advanced to the quarterfinals.

In Zone C, Cayman Prep won the group on goal difference after losing to Sir John A. Cumber Primary ‘B’ in a penalty shootout and beating Savannah Primary 2-0. Sir John A. Cumber Primary ‘B’ finished second in Zone C with their win over Cayman Prep and a loss to Savannah Primary, also in a penalty shootout. Savannah Primary finished bottom of the group on goal difference with their victory over Sir John A. Cumber Primary ‘B’. The three schools advanced to the next round.

In the quarterfinals, St Ignatius Prep defeated George Town 3-0 with goals from Ashlyn Evans (2) and Madison Kelly; Sir John A. Cumber Primary ‘B’ defeated Sir John A. Cumber Primary ‘A’ in the battle of West Bay with Zavier Powery clinching the winner for her young team; Cayman Prep were 5-0 victors over Prospect Primary ‘B’ thanks to goals from Clara Byrne (2), Talia McMillian-Collette and Kate Young; and Prospect Primary ‘A’ outlasted Savannah Primary 2-1 in a penalty shootout.

In the semifinals, St Ignatius secured their place in the coveted final after defeating Cayman Prep 1-0 with Ashlyn Evans grabbing the winner, and Prospect Primary ‘A’ downed Sir John A. Cumber Primary ‘B’ 3-2 after an exciting sudden death penalty shootout.

Youth referees Francisco Murillo-Johnson, Matthew Bodden, and Saul and Isaiah O’Sullivan officiated the games throughout the day under the guidance of PFL Youth Referees Association Director Dwayne Ebanks.

The primary school boys take centre stage on Saturday, 1 October with the 2016/2017 CUC PFL opening rally kicking off at 9am at the Annex Field.

Tags: ,

Category: Football, Primary School

Comments are closed.