Governor’s design awards open for nominations

| 09/10/2017 | 0 Comments
CNS Local Life

2015 award winner Raul Pal (left) receives a plaque for his ‘Beach House’ from Governor Helen Kilpatrick

(CNS Local Life): The fifth national Governors Awards for Design and Construction Excellence have been launched, with nominations open until Friday, 17 November. This year’s awards, which take place every other year, for the first time include two categories, residential and commercial, in response to the wider range of developments within the local construction community.

Governor Helen Kilpatrick, in conjunction with the Cayman Society of Architects, Surveyors & Engineers and the Cayman Contractors Association, officially launched the awards 5 October.

The Governor’s Award programme seeks to encourage, foster and maintain innovation, sustainability and excellence in the Cayman Islands construction industry, stated a press release. Previous winners include landmarks such as the Barcadere and Camana Bay Town Centre. Garth Arch, a member of the Governor’s Awards committee, said the need to include two categories is due to the high calibre of past applications:

“Development in the Cayman Islands is world leading, certainly in terms of innovation,” he said. “The Governor’s Award has very strict criteria, including sustainable and cultural pre-requisites for example, and this is representative of the high standards we see here. Every year we have been astounded by the entries and this year, with the two categories, we expect an exciting response to the submission call.”

To nominate a candidate project for the award, any member of a project team (including the developer) may submit the credentials of that project, large or small, for consideration. The submission deadline is 6pm, Friday, 17 November and entries will then be short listed by a panel of judges. The governor will select the award-winning entry. Nominations should all be highly responsive to sustainability issues and the judging will be based on the criteria of design excellence, creativity and innovation, value, buildability and cultural response.

The winner will be announced at an award ceremony at the governor’s residence on 7 December 2017.


Category: Uncategorised

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.