Kiwanis Club names new board

| 27/10/2017
CNS Local Life

(L-R) Nicola Murray succeeds Daniella McGowan as Kiwanis Club president

(CNS Local Life): The Kiwanis Club of Grand Cayman recently installed its officers and board members for 2017-2018, with Nicola Murray the new president, taking over from Daniella McGowan. “For many years, the Kiwanis Club of Grand Cayman has made and continues to make a real difference in the Cayman community, especially where children are concerned,” Murray said.

“Their work with our community’s youth was why I joined the club and when I did, I was welcomed into the Kiwanis family. I am grateful and honoured for the opportunity to serve the club and the children of Cayman as president,” she added in a Kiwanis press release.

Other officers inducted at the ceremony were president-elect Sue Day, vice president Duane Turner, secretary Linda Chapman-Key, treasurer Cavell Goulbourne, assistant treasurer Annabelle de la Cruz-Ting and directors Monique Bush, Tonicia Williams, Ted Green and Ruud van der Pluijm.

McGowan was awarded the title distinguished past president for her leadership during her tenure. Kadi Merren-Pentney, also a distinguished past president, was named Kiwanian of the Year, in recognition of her management of the annual Breakfast for Dinner event which raises funds for the club’s Buy a Kid Breakfast programme. She also headed Kiwanis’ youth leadership retreat, Key Leader, which this year taught 85 high school students principles of leadership over the course of a weekend.

Past president and past treasurer Ruud van der Pluijm received the President’s Award for his continued dedication to the club. He served as treasurer for more than 10 years and has been involved in all the organisation’s service projects.

For more information, go to the Kiwanis Club website or email Nicola Murray


Tags: ,

Category: Community, Service Organisations

Comments are closed.