International scuba diving honourees announced

| 23/11/2016
CNS Local Life

ISDHF executive director Leslie Leaney

(CNS Local Life): Four names have been added to the list of the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame (ISDHF). The Cayman Islands Department of Tourism announced the 2017 honourees at the annual Diving Equipment and Marketing Association (DEMA) trade show held 16-19 November in Las Vegas. New inductees Dick Bonin, Gardner Young, Krov Menuhin and Kurt Schaefer, who will join a roster of pioneers in the dive industry as part of ISDHF, will be officially inducted into the Hall of Fame during an awards ceremony in Grand Cayman set for 29 September 2017.

Established by the Cayman Islands Ministry of Tourism in 2000, ISDHF celebrates those who have contributed to the success and growth of recreational scuba diving through advancements in dive tourism, equipment design and innovation, underwater filmmaking, and the historical significance of the dive industry.

“Year after year, the Cayman Islands International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame recognises the trailblazers in the field of diving,” said Minister of Tourism Moses Kirkconnell. “Since its creation, ISDHF has inducted some of the world’s greatest leaders in the industry and as a result of their dedicated efforts, the sport has introduced the most innovative and reliable scuba diving equipment and techniques to-date, enabling our visitors to explore Cayman’s unforgettable dive sites more efficiently than ever before.”

ISDHF executive director Leslie Leaney said, “It’s always a privilege to work alongside some of the legendary dive pioneers and it brings me joy to welcome the newest inductees for 2017.

“Their contributions continue to inspire future generations of divers and the Hall of Fame preserves their legacies for years to come both in the Cayman Islands and worldwide.”

For biographies of the four inductees go to the Department of Tourism website


Category: Diving

Comments are closed.